2013 Premier League Darts

So, on the back of the brilliant World Championships we have the announcement of the 2013 Premier League Darts competitors and format.

There will now be ten players all competing for the £450k prize. Reigning Premier League and World Champion Phil Taylor is number one on the list, followed by Adrian Lewis, Gary Anderson, Simon Whitlock, Andy Hamilton, Raymond Van Barneveld and James Wade.

They will now be joined by Michael Van Gerwen, Wes Newton and Robert Thornton.

In week ten, the bottom two players will be relegated. At this point, the remaining players will play each other again to complete the league format before the final at The 02 in May.

Hopefully it will be as exciting and entertaining as previous years!

Sport, Fitness & Recreation Manager, keen golfer, retired footballer & NFL newbie


This Post Has 4 Comments

  1. James says:

    Sounds great! Like the lineup. Be interesting to see how Anderson does this year – he seems to be struggling lately. I imagine the Barney v Taylor’s could be fruity!

    So for the first 9 weeks, are there 5 matches?

    • Andy says:

      I think so. Don’t imagine the crowds would be too happy if certain players weren’t on show every week. Such a strong field, with half of them capable of winning it! Taylor for me.

  2. Phil says:

    RVB & Taylor will be good by then. MVG will be tested every week.

    Looking forward to it all. Good spectacle. Anderson or Thornton to be bottom, in fact, both relegated in week 10.

    • Andy says:

      That went from bad to worse for Thornton and Anderson fast! I hope Anderson can come back, I like him a lot. Remember how ashamed he was when Lewis was getting coins thrown at him in Scotland and by the looks of it, was either too embarrassed to concentrate or let Lewis win. Bloody nice guy!

Leave A Reply